War in Ukraine: Russia will take retaliatory measures

Sylvie Claire / March 29, 2022

The head of Russian diplomacy announced Monday that a decree was being prepared to limit access to Russian territory to nationals of countries that commit unfriendly acts, in the midst of a wave of sanctions against Moscow since its offensive in Ukraine.
A draft presidential decree is being prepared to introduce retaliatory measures, concerning visas, in connection with the unfriendly actions of several foreign governments, Sergei Lavrov said at a meeting of the ruling United Russia party.
The diplomat added that the draft included a whole range of restrictions on entering Russia, but did not specify which countries and types of people would be sanctioned in particular.
In response to Western economic sanctions, Moscow published a list of unfriendly countries in early March that includes the United States, European Union members, the United Kingdom, Canada, Japan, Switzerland, Taiwan, South Korea, Norway and Australia.
On Monday, Lavrov did not specify whether the pending decree would apply against these countries.
      HTML Image as link