War in Ukraine: Russia sanctions 29 Americans, including Mark Zuckerberg and Kamala Harris

Steph Deschamps / April 22, 2022

Russia on Thursday banned 29 U.S. politicians, media personalities and businessmen from entering its territory in retaliation for Washington's sanctions against Moscow for its offensive against Ukraine.
In addition, 61 Canadian public figures, mostly government or military officials, are also affected by this measure.
These American and Canadian citizens are banned from entering Russia for an indefinite period of time, the Russian Foreign Ministry said in two statements listing the names of those targeted.
On the American side, several government officials, such as Deputy Defense Secretary Kathleen Hicks and Pentagon spokesman John Kirby are targeted.
This is also the case for several figures from the worlds of finance, such as the boss of the powerful Bank of America Brian Moynihan, and the defense industry, such as the head of Northrop Grumman, Kathy Warden.
Finally, several media personalities were also targeted, including George Stephanopoulos, co-host of the ABC morning show Good Morning America, and David Ignatius, a columnist for the Washington Post.
Russian diplomacy explains that it targeted these journalists and experts by accusing them of defending a Russophobic agenda.
On the Canadian side, this includes Prime Minister Justin Trudeau's Director of Communications, Cameron Ahmad, and Special Forces Commander Steve Boivin.
Earlier, Russia had already sanctioned several hundred U.S. and Canadian officials, including U.S. President Joe Biden and Mr. Trudeau, in response to their countries' punitive measures against Moscow.

Russia's military offensive against Ukraine since February 24 has sparked international outrage and a barrage of economic sanctions against Moscow.
      HTML Image as link